This Chicks Sunday Commentary: Uppercase Box Nov’18 Reveal

Thanksgiving has come early this year with my Uppercase Box book arriving this week along with family, food, and fun! As always the envelope was stuffed and puffed!

I’m always excited when I get a pair of bookish socks. These socks from BookRiot are purple and covered with books and unicorns. Unicorns seem to be quite the thing this year, don’t they? There was also a pretty book mark which reads: Whatever our Souls are made of His and Mine are the Same. Tres romantic! Maybe a clue from the book?

Drumroll please!!!

Synopsis:

Philippa Gregory meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in this witty and thrilling action-adventure novel of star-crossed assassins in Elizabethan England. Perfect for fans of My Lady Jane and The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.
When Lady Katherine’s father is killed for being an illegally practicing Catholic, she discovers treason wasn’t the only secret he’s been hiding: he was also involved in a murder plot against the reigning Queen Elizabeth I. With nothing left to lose, Katherine disguises herself as a boy and travels to London to fulfill her father’s mission, and to take it one step further–kill the queen herself.

Katherine’s opportunity comes in the form of William Shakespeare’s newest play, which is to be performed in front of Her Majesty. But what she doesn’t know is that the play is not just a play. It’s a plot to root out insurrectionists and destroy the rebellion once and for all.

The mastermind behind this ruse is Toby Ellis, a young spy for the queen with secrets of his own. When Toby and Katherine are cast opposite each other as the play’s leads, they find themselves inexplicably drawn to one another. But the closer they grow, the more precarious their positions become. And soon they learn that star-crossed love, mistaken identity, and betrayal are far more dangerous off the stage than on.

I’ll admit, sometimes these YA novels are a miss for me, but this one looks cute! What do you think? Is this book on your radar? Have you read it?

Until next Sunday,

Deb

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.