This Chicks Sunday Commentary: My Top 5 Most Anticipated Book Releases- Feb’23

There are a lot of great books releasing next month and surprisingly most of my Top 5 are in the mystery/thriller genre. I do like to read an occasional mystery, but not usually this many in one month. This should be interesting!! Here are my top 5.

#5 BOOK RELEASE

Despite the woman running and looking over her shoulder cover Desperate Acts looks to be an interesting thriller. A long ago mystery that resurfaces in present time and threatens the life of our heroine. I’m sure at some point she is running and looking over her shoulder but I’d expect this novel to be much more than that. I’m looking forward to seeing what that might be.

Synopsis: WILL SHE FIND THE ANSWER

Teenager Lia Porter shouldn’t have been anywhere near the railroad bridge that night. Sneaking home after a party in the fields outside Pike, Wisconsin, she glimpsed a woman in a leather jacket, running in terror. Lia puts the incident from her mind—until a body is found near the same spot fifteen years later, wearing the same jacket. The police rule it a suicide. Lia knows different. The woman she saw was trying to save her own life, not end it. But whatever she was fleeing from found her first . . .

BEFORE THE KILLER

The stranger who arrives at Lia’s store shares her suspicions. Hollywood stunt driver Kaden Vaughn has come home to Wisconsin to learn the truth about what happened to his brother’s fiancée years ago. The leather jacket, the timing—he believes the dead woman is Vanna, and that Lia may be the only person who can help. Together they retrace Vanna’s steps, but the more they dig, the darker the secrets become.

FINDS HER?

The killer is still out there, stalking the streets of Pike again, willing to do whatever is necessary to keep the truth locked in mystery. One by one, all those who know something about that night must be silenced, until there is no one left to tell . . .

Click this link to purchase this book!* Desperate Acts

#4 BOOK RELEASE

First, yes this is not a mystery. It’s a romance, but the synopsis sounds like there is a hint of mystery. AND he’s the sheriff! So, he must solve crimes that are mysterious. Seriously though, I did like the last novel in this series and Lucy Score typically writes fun rom-com’s. Can’t wait to dig in!

Synopsis:

Nash Morgan was always known as the good Morgan brother, with a smile and a wink for everyone. But now, this chief of police is recovering from being shot and his Southern charm has been overshadowed by panic attacks and nightmares. He feels like a broody shell of the man he once was. Nash isn’t about to let anyone in his life know he’s struggling. But his new next-door neighbor, smart and sexy Lina, sees his shadows. As a rule, she’s not a fan of physical contact unless she initiates it, but for some reason Nash’s touch is different. He feels it too. The physical connection between them is incendiary, grounding him and making her wonder if exploring it is worth the risk.

Too bad Lina’s got secrets of her own, and if Nash finds out the real reason she’s in town, he’ll never forgive her. Besides, she doesn’t do relationships. Ever. A hot, short-term fling with a local cop? Absolutely. Sign her up. A relationship with a man who expects her to plant roots? No freaking way. Once she gets what she’s after, she has no intention of sticking around. But Knockemout has a way of getting under people’s skin. And once Nash decides to make Lina his, he’s not about to be dissuaded…even if it means facing the danger that nearly killed him.

Click this link to purchase this book!* Things We Hide From the Light

#3 BOOK RELEASE

Mysterious car crash where one teen dies. True Crime podcast gives various scenarios on the crash and why it happened. A young girl was in the car and doesn’t remember anything. Spooky! I like it. Oh, and it’s by Melissa De La Cruz, so it def. deserves a look!

Synopsis: Friday night. The party of the summer. Four teens ride home together. Only one never makes it.

When high school sophomore Chris Moore is tragically killed in a car crash, Armstrong Prep is full of questions. Who was at the wheel? And more importantly, who was at fault?

Eighteen-year-old Spencer Sandoval wishes she knew. As rumors swirl that her ex, Ethan, was the reckless driver, she can’t bring herself to defend him. And their messy breakup has nothing to do with it – she can’t remember anything from that night, not even what put her in that car with Ethan, Chris, and Tabby Hill, the new loner in school.

The hunt for answers intensifies when a local true crime podcast takes an interest in the case, pushing Spencer further into the depths of this sinister mystery. Was it all just a night out that went very wrong? And is it a coincidence that all but Chris is on Armstrong’s esteemed honor roll, the Headmaster’s List? In a place ruled by pedigree and privilege, the truth can only come at a deadly price.

Set against the glitz and glamour of an elite LA private school, Melissa de la Cruz’s first YA thriller is an addictive mystery perfect for fans of Gossip Girl and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.

Click this link to purchase this book!* The Headmaster’s List

*Amazon Associate- if you purchase a book through one of the above links I’ll receive a small stipend.

#2 BOOK RELEASE

Ok, you got me. Also not a mystery, but three out of the five is a LOT for me. End of Story is by Kylie Scott who is one of my go to author’s. I’ve read a couple this year with almost this same HGTV set up so I’m curious to see how her’s will be different.

Synopsis:

When Susie Bowen inherits a charming fixer-upper from her aunt, she’s excited to start living her best HGTV life. But when she opens the door to find that her contractor is none other than her ex’s best friend, Lars—the same man who witnessed their humiliating public breakup six months ago—she isn’t exactly eager to have anyone around whose alliance is with the enemy. But beggars can’t be choosers, and the sooner the repairs are done, the sooner she can get back to embracing singledom.

Things go from awkward to unbelievable when Lars discovers a divorce certificate hidden in a wall and dated ten years in the future—with both their names on it. It couldn’t possibly be real…could it? As Susie and Lars work to unravel the document’s origins, the impossibility of a spark between them suddenly doesn’t seem so far-fetched. But would a relationship between them be doomed before it’s even begun?

Click this link to purchase this book!* End of Story

MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK RELEASE!

I was lucky enough to get an advanced reader copy of this novel. It’s a great spin-off of a great series. Yes, there is a mystery and yes, it’s also a good one. But seriously, I’m just happy to be back in the same world as these characters.

Synopsis: New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong’s Rockton Novels had one of the most unique towns in crime fiction. Murder at Haven’s Rock is a spinoff, a fresh start… with a few new dangers that threaten everything before it even begins.

Haven’s Rock, Yukon. Population: 0

Deep in the Yukon wilderness, a town is being built. A place for people to disappear, a fresh start from a life on the run. Haven’s Rock isn’t the first town of this kind, something detective Casey Duncan and her husband, Sheriff Eric Dalton, know first-hand. They met in the original town of Rockton. But greed and deception led the couple to financing a new refuge for those in need. This time around, they get to decide which applicants are approved for residency.

There’s only one rule in Haven’s Rock: stay out of the forest. When two of the town’s construction crew members break it and go missing, Casey and Eric are called in ahead of schedule to track them down. When a body is discovered, well-hidden with evidence of foul play, Casey and Eric must find out what happened to the dead woman, and locate those still missing. The longer Casey and Eric don’t know what happened, the more danger everyone is in.

Click this link to purchase this book!* Murder at Haven’s Rock

These are my top 5 books for Feb. If you have an opinion, are looking forward to something else, or just agree with me, please comment below!

Happy Reading!

Deb

2 thoughts on “This Chicks Sunday Commentary: My Top 5 Most Anticipated Book Releases- Feb’23

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.